Indian Premier League 2019: Delhi Daredevils now Delhi Capitals

first_imgDelhi Daredevils will be called Delhi Capitals from the next edition of the Indian Premier League. This was announced at a function hosted by owners GMR Group and JSW Sports, who now own a 50 per cent stake in the franchise.”We wanted this name to mean something to each and everyone from Delhi,” co-owner Parth Jindal said at the launch event.Delhi happens to be only one of three teams to have not yet won the Indian Premier League. Last year, Delhi finished last, winning only five of 14 games. Gautam Gambhir even stepped down as captain after a disastrous start to their campaign but a change of guard clearly did not help.Gambhir along with Jason Roy, Glenn Maxwell and Liam Plunkett and Mohammed Shami were released this year. Shikhar Dhawan, who plied his trade with Sunrisers Hyderabad for a few years, returned to Delhi who already boast of young India stars like Rishabh Pant and Prithvi Shaw.Dilliwasiyon, say hello to Delhi Capitals!#ThisIsNewDelhi Capitals (@DelhiCapitals) December 4, 2018″Shikhar Dhawan is a proven performer in IPL and he adds the perfect experience to the motivated young core of ours,” Jindal said.”Shreyas Iyer will lead the side this season.”In 2017, Delhi won only six out of 14 matches while 2016 was slightly better with seven wins out of 14 matches.Delhi had made a decent start to the Indian Premier League 10 years ago. In 2008, they had finished fourth in the points table. In 2012, the Daredevils had even reached the play-offs.advertisementWith Ricky Ponting as coach, Delhi Capitals will be eager to start afresh and deliver in the new season.”One of our learnings has been to keep the core. And we did that and today have build the team around young, motivated youngsters. This auction, we target players basis their availability first. All permutations and combinations need to be tried and tested,” Jindal said.last_img read more